INEC Registers 10.2 Million New Voters
July 20, 2018
Festus Okoye Assumes Duty As 12th National Commissioner
July 25, 2018

INEC Releases Timetable, Schedule of Activities For Four Bye-elections

Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu (middle), National Commissioners Prof. Anthonia Simbine (left) and Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu at the Resident Electoral Commissioners' meeting held on 18th July, 2018. PHOTO: BASIL NWAGUGU

By Nathaniel Gana

 The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on 19th July announced that it will on Saturday 11th August, 2018 conduct four bye-elections to fill vacancies in Katsina North and Bauchi South senatorial districts in Kastina and Bauch states; Lokoja/Kogi/Koton Karfe Federal Constituencies in Kogi state and Obudu State Constituency in Cross River State.

The decision was informed by the notification of vacancies earlier conveyed by the National Assembly and the Cross River State House of Assembly to the Commission. In line with this development, the Commission has also approved the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the bye elections..

According to the Schedule signed by the Secretary to the Commission, Mrs. Augusta Ogakwu, the last day for the conduct of primaries by political parties is 25th July, while the submission of Forms CF001, CF002 and Nomination Forms at INEC Headquarters must be done by is 27th July.

Publication of forms CF001, list of nominated candidates and submission of names and addresses of party agents must be concluded by 3rd August.

Campaigns are expected to end on 9th August , to pave the way for the by-elections two days later.