INEC Plans Re-Run, Bye-Elections For Feb 2024
December 18, 2023
Liberia’s National Elections Commission Honours Prof. Yakubu                   
December 30, 2023

INEC Schedules Re-run, Bye Elections for Feb 3, 2024

National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Mr. Sam Olumekun mni

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has fixed Saturday 3rd February 2024 for conductng various bye-elections resulting from the resignation or demise of members of the National and State Houses of Assembly, following the declaration of vacancies by the Presiding Officers of the Senate, House of Representatives and State Houses of Assembly.

According to a statement signed by National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC), Mr. Sam Olumekun mni, the vacancies occurred across two Senatorial Districts, four Federal Constituencies and three State Constituencies spanning nine States of the Federation.

The Senatorial Districts include Ebonyi South with five Local Government Areas (LGAs), 870 Polling Units (PUs) and 484,259 registered voters and Yobe East with seven LGAs, 992 PUs and 519,681 registered voters.

The four Federal Constituencies are: Yauri/Shanga/Ngaski in Kebbi State, involving three LGAs, 410 PUs  and 227,406 registered voters; Surulere 1 in Lagos State, comprising one LGA, 258 PUs and 140, 377 registered voters; Akoko northeast/Akoko northwest in Ondo State with two LGAs, 329 PUs and 171,491 registered voters; and Jalingo/Yorro/Zing in Taraba State, involving three LGAs, 658 PUs and 374,278 registered voters.

The three State Constituencies include Guma in Benue State, with one LGA, 116 PUs and 63,529 registered voters; Chibok in Borno State, comprising one LGA, 118 PUs and 55,498 registered voters, and Chikun in Kaduna State involving 543 PUs and 334,071 registered voters.

In the same vein, Mr Olumekun stated that the Commission will also conduct re-run elections in 35 Constituencies arising from the 2023 general elections, as directed by the various Election Petition Appeal Tribunals. While three cover entire constituencies, others involve only a few PUs.

The National Commissioner affirmed that the timetable for the elections along with delimitation details has been uploaded to the Commission’s website and could be accessed at: .